When Pigs Fly.
It has always been a dream of mine to have a bar on the beach...Well, I'm not exactly on the beach, but I am in paradise. I worked as a Jr. High teacher in California for 12 years, and all the while I always had the idea of running my own bar somewhere in the Caribbean. Well, the cards were laid out on the table, and I cashed in my chips. So, here I am living in the beautiful country of Belize. Many of my friends had no idea of where Belize was even located before I told them I was moving here.

The saying the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence…well there is no grass, but plenty of beautiful sandy beaches. Sure there are a lot of luxuries I had to give up, but such is anything with a life changing event. Back when I lived in the States I use to drive 30 miles to the nearest Walmart when I needed a light bulb. I’d get there, spend $100s on crap I didn’t need, and get halfway back home before I realized I had forget to buy the light bulbs. Here in Belize, if I need a light bulb…I go to the shop, if they have it, I buy it…If they don’t have it, I order it, it comes on the truck next Tuesday and I drink beer in the dark for the week…I think I can live with that.

Friends…yes I miss them dearly, and all of the good times I had spent with them and their families. The movie nights with Jon and his amazing family, playing fort with Shayleigh in her father’s foam factory, all of the RiverCat games with Mikey, having a good cup of Tea with G.W,  and coming home to find Kent, my roommate, planning up his new endeavor to take over the world. And don’t even get me started on about all of my lambda Chi Alpha brothers from Chico State…All I can say is Good Times!!! Thankfully, I have made some new amazing friends living here in Placencia, and each and everyone has their own stories, and life changing events.

So, here is to all of my friends from the States, to my new friends here in Belize…I love you all, and hope to cross paths again very soon. But 2014 is going to be out for me, I’m saving my $$ for the World Cup. :-)



Leave a Reply.

    The Main Pig

    Once a school teacher, now an owner of a bar in the Caribbean...Need I say anymore?

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All